General
RCT
LOE I
n = 339 (168 rTKR, 171 cTKR)
12 months (long-term follow-up ongoing)
Parsons H, Metcalfe A · … · RACER-Knee trial team
Key Takeaway: Robotic-arm-assisted TKR (Mako) produced a mean Forgotten Joint Score of 49.2 versus 50.2 for conventional TKR at 12 months (adjusted difference -1.5, 95% CI -7.5 to 4.5; p=0.62), failing to reach the prespecified 12-point minimum clinically important difference.
General
systematic review
LOE V
n = N/A
N/A
Eder L · … · Merola JF
Key Takeaway: This Lancet review covers psoriasis epidemiology, immunopathology, and treatment but contains no original data, outcome metrics, or quantitative findings relevant to orthopaedic practice.
Shoulder & Elbow
RCT
LOE I
n = 105 (34 Velpeau, 39 standard sling, 32 padded sling)
Not explicitly reported
Sarıkaş DM · … · Bilsel DK
Key Takeaway: Among three immobilization devices (Velpeau bandage, standard sling, padded sling) for conservatively managed proximal humerus fractures, no significant differences were found in any functional outcome score or malunion rate (21% overall) across 105 evaluable patients.
Arthroplasty
meta-analysis
LOE II
n = 7 studies (5 RCTs, 2 comparative cohorts), 1,068 primary TKAs
N/A — not uniformly reported across included studies
Siddiqi A, Yousuf KM · … · Jacob PB
Key Takeaway: Unrestricted kinematic alignment TKA yields 4.58° greater postoperative flexion and 66% fewer intraoperative soft-tissue releases (RR 0.34) versus mechanical alignment, with no significant difference in patellofemoral complications or revision rate.
Arthroplasty
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 92 hips in 87 patients
Mean 10 years; 88% retention at final follow-up.
Zappley N, Khan I · … · Hozack WJ
Key Takeaway: Modular dual-mobility bearings in primary THA achieved zero dislocations and zero MDM-related revisions at 10-year follow-up in 92 hips, with HOOS JR improving from 24.91 to 78.41.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 115 OS-PGT, 64,489 unique case interpretations
N/A
Starvaggi CA, Bouchard M · … · Boutis K
Key Takeaway: A web-based, mastery-learning intervention improved pediatric MSK radiograph risk stratification accuracy by 20.5% among orthopaedic trainees, with 78% reaching a 90% performance standard in a median of 141 cases per body region.
Hand & Wrist
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 113 patients, 196 wrists
N/A
Afolabi-Brown K, Liu A · … · Niemann M
Key Takeaway: WFR (AUC 0.623) added no incremental diagnostic value over wrist CSA alone (AUC 0.813) for CTS diagnosis, while CTS-6 outperformed both ultrasound measures (AUC 0.977).
Trauma
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = N not explicitly stated in abstract
7 days postoperative
Pass B, Boerner A · … · Schoeneberg C
Key Takeaway: Geriatric proximal femur fracture patients had significantly elevated preoperative IL-6 and IL-6/IL-10 ratios compared to elective THA controls, but elective THA produced a stronger acute postoperative IL-6 surge.
Spine
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 1,440
N/A (cross-sectional)
Ulenius S, Järvinen J · … · Määttä J
Key Takeaway: In an unselected population of 1,440 middle-aged adults (age 45–47), focal disc protrusions were present in 38.2% and central stenosis in 99.1% of cases, with severity predominantly mild across all pathology categories.
Sports Medicine
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 111 (52 paediatric, 59 adult)
12 months (single MRI timepoint postoperatively)
de Pesters C, Vari N · … · Accadbled F
Key Takeaway: At 12 months post-ACLR with ST4 hamstring autograft, pediatric patients had a mean adjusted SNQ of 5.1 versus 1.5 in adults (p<0.001), indicating significantly slower graft remodelling.
Spine
meta-analysis
LOE II
n = 13 studies, 2,247 patients
N/A (not uniformly reported across included studies)
Maayan O, Khattab M · … · Crawford AM
Key Takeaway: Perioperative anabolic pharmacotherapy (predominantly teriparatide) is associated with a 49% reduction in odds of PJK (OR 0.51, 95% CI 0.30–0.86) and a 64% reduction in reoperation for mechanical failure (OR 0.36, 95% CI 0.14–0.88) after adult spinal deformity surgery across 2,247 patients.
Arthroplasty
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 45
6 months (RSA at post-op, 6 weeks, 3 months, 6 months)
Monteiro R, Mohammadi A · … · Hull ML
Key Takeaway: A new cementless tibial baseplate in KA-TKA achieved mean 6-month MTPM of 0.93 mm, significantly below the 1.15 mm RSA stability threshold predictive of low long-term loosening risk (p=0.015), with stabilization by 3 months.
Arthroplasty
meta-analysis
LOE II
n = 18 studies, 796,061 patients
Outcomes assessed at 1 month, 3 months, and 12 months; no long-term follow-up reported.
Meissner N, Ortwig K · … · Halder AM
Key Takeaway: High-volume THA surgeons had significantly lower 1-month readmission (OR 1.6, p=0.033) and 3-month mortality (OR 1.8, p=0.008) compared to low-volume surgeons, but revision rates at 3 and 12 months were not significantly different across 796,061 patients.
Trauma
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 117
5-year Kaplan-Meier endpoints reported; mean follow-up duration not explicitly stated.
Jahn J, Dean KK · … · Pretell-Mazzini J
Key Takeaway: Late sarcoma specialist consultation (>2 months) after unplanned excision independently increased 5-year metastasis odds 7-fold (OR=7.11) and mortality odds 11-fold (OR=11.29) compared to early consultation (≤2 months).
Trauma
database study
LOE III
n = 388 propensity-matched patients (97 per group) from ACS-NSQIP 2021–2024
30 days
Lin NA · … · Lee W
Key Takeaway: Diagnosed/treated diabetics with HbA1c ≥8.0% had significantly higher rates of revision surgery, superficial SSI, and organ-space infection after ankle ORIF than undiagnosed/untreated patients with equivalent HbA1c elevation (all p<0.05).
Foot & Ankle
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 70 feet (52 patients)
N/A
Guo M · … · Yang F
Key Takeaway: ADA contribution to HVA increases from 43.3% in mild to 69.3% in severe hallux valgus, establishing the geometric identity HVA = DMAA + DASA + ADA across all severity grades.
Trauma
database study
LOE III
n = 17,833 total; 779 patients per group after 1:1 propensity score matching
N/A
Reddy S · … · Lee W
Key Takeaway: Trimalleolar ankle fracture ORIF generates the lowest hourly reimbursement ($296.1/hr) despite the longest operative time (105.0 min), while unimalleolar fixation yields the highest wRVU/hr (10.7) and $/hr ($361.9), demonstrating an inverse relationship between surgical complexity and proportional compensation.
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 450 (316 MD, 134 IF; 192 after PSM)
Minimum 5 years for reoperation analysis; mean not specified.
Fischer G, Kilian E · … · Loibl M
Key Takeaway: In 450 patients with recurrent lumbar disc herniation, instrumented fusion reduced reoperation risk to 15.7% versus 36.7% for repeat microdiscectomy (p<0.001) over minimum 5-year follow-up, though functional outcomes did not differ significantly after propensity-score matching.
Basic Science
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 87 (67 non-protrusio, 20 protrusio)
N/A if not reported.
Jiang W, Gan D · … · Lee FY
Key Takeaway: A CT-based radiographic scoring system using periacetabular bone destruction patterns achieves 95% sensitivity and 91% specificity (cutoff ≥3.0) for predicting protrusio acetabuli in osteolytic periacetabular metastases.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
systematic review
LOE III
n = 14 studies, 731 patients
N/A if not reported.
Buckman V · … · Pandya N
Key Takeaway: Across 14 studies and 731 pediatric pelvic fracture patients, >90% regained independent ambulation regardless of management strategy, with pelvic asymmetry (8.7%), limb length discrepancy (6.9%), and nonunion (1.1%) as the dominant structural complications.
Shoulder & Elbow
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 68 (17 CD matched 1:3 to 51 PHF controls)
Mean 28.1 months (CD), 20.9 months (PHF)
Molokwu BO, Xu JJ · … · Virk MS
Key Takeaway: rTSA for chronic anterior dislocation yields significantly lower PROMIS Upper Extremity scores versus matched PHF controls (36.2 vs. 56.6, p<0.001) despite equivalent range of motion.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 155
Mean 2.3 years
Rogie GA · … · Luhmann S
Key Takeaway: Convergent caudal screw sagittal angulation (OR 0.893 per degree, p=0.003) independently predicts mechanical failure in PDDD for AIS, with an overall mechanical failure rate of 27% and construct breakage in 17% at mean 2.3-year follow-up.
Shoulder & Elbow
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 460 (329 inferiorized, 131 lateralized)
Median 31.3 months (inferiorized) vs. 12.2 months (lateralized); minimum 12 months.
Pearsall C, Lachance A · … · Choi J
Key Takeaway: Inferiorized and lateralized glenospheres in rTSA showed equivalent 36-month cumulative incidence of reoperation (4.9% vs. 4.4%) and equivalent ASES improvements (~46–50 points) with no significant difference in any outcome.
Trauma
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 290 (107 closed, 183 open reduction)
Mean 27.1 months (closed), 22.4 months (open); range 3.7–159.5 months.
Collinge C, Wong H · … · and the Young Femoral Neck Working Group
Key Takeaway: Open versus closed reduction of displaced femoral neck fractures in patients under 50 yielded statistically equivalent major complication rates (57.0% vs. 54.1%) across 290 patients at mean follow-up of 22–27 months.
Shoulder & Elbow
database study
LOE III
n = 63,502
2006–2024 registry period; Kaplan-Meier survivorship analysis with divergence from 1.5 years onward.
Nguyen TQ, Gill DRJ · … · Cass B
Key Takeaway: Non-crosslinked polyethylene humeral cups in reverse TSA carry a 1.84x higher revision risk for osteoarthritis (HR=1.84, 95% CI 1.42–2.40) and 1.47x higher for rotator cuff arthropathy (HR=1.47, 95% CI 1.16–1.86) compared to highly crosslinked polyethylene on multivariable analysis.
Arthroplasty
database study
LOE III
n = N not explicitly stated; AJRR linked to CMS data 2012–2022 for patients ≥65 years with femoral neck fracture treated with arthroplasty receiving CMDF or cemented stems.
Not explicitly reported; study period 2012–2022.
Deckey DG, Kelly M · … · Bingham JS
Key Takeaway: Cementless collared metadiaphyseal-filling stems carry a 70% higher hazard of revision for periprosthetic femoral fracture compared to cemented stems in patients ≥65 years undergoing arthroplasty for femoral neck fracture (aHR 1.7, 95% CI 1.1–2.7).
Shoulder & Elbow
prospective cohort
LOE III
n = 116 shoulders (110 patients)
Mean 15.8 months (range 6–83 months)
Kinnair A · … · Collin P
Key Takeaway: The HBB Classification achieved near-perfect interobserver reliability (κ=0.945) after rTSA, significantly outperforming the traditional vertebral-level method (κ=0.599, Δκ=0.346, p<0.000001).
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 391 (plus smaller external validation dataset, size not specified)
N/A
Zhu J, Yang H · … · Zhou Y
Key Takeaway: A four-variable nomogram (preoperative anticoagulant use, TXA use, surgical duration >120 min, preoperative hemoglobin) predicted post-THA transfusion risk with AUROC 0.90 in a cohort where 20.5% of patients required transfusion.
Sports Medicine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 114 (57 per group after 1:1 propensity score matching)
Minimum 2 years
Duan YP, Yang F · … · Wang JQ
Key Takeaway: Patients with injection-confirmed subspine impingement achieved PASS rates approximately 15–20 percentage points higher across all PRO measures compared to CT-morphology-only selection after arthroscopic subspine decompression at minimum 2-year follow-up.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 515 patients (766 feet)
Mean 7.3 years (SD 4.1)
Krespi R, Gigi R · … · Ovadia D
Key Takeaway: DDH prevalence in idiopathic clubfoot was 0.78% (4/515 patients), statistically comparable to population norms, arguing against routine hip ultrasound screening based on clubfoot diagnosis alone.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 115
Mean 6.2 years (PFC group), 5.7 years (non-PFC group).
Shen M, Chen L · … · Alaia M
Key Takeaway: Patients with Outerbridge grade ≥3 patellofemoral chondrosis at the time of posterior medial meniscus root repair converted to UKA or TKA at a 7-fold higher rate than those without (14.9% vs 2.1%; P=.021) over a mean 6.2-year follow-up.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 8,382 (4,191 psoriasis vs. 4,191 matched controls, drawn from 156,015 primary TKA patients)
90 days and 2 years (dual timepoints, not a mean continuous follow-up)
Sontam TR, Tummala S · … · Sambandam SN
Key Takeaway: Psoriasis patients undergoing TKA face a 50% higher relative risk of PJI (RR 1.5, CI 1.1–2.1) and revision TKA (RR 1.5, CI 1.1–2.0) at two years compared to propensity-matched controls.
Shoulder & Elbow
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 100 (50 male, 50 female)
N/A
Lent-Koop J, Orbay J · … · Mercer D
Key Takeaway: Global offset (mean 6.41 mm male, 5.53 mm female) varies independently of humeral head diameter and canal size, with no significant correlation in either sex, challenging the assumption that implant sizing from canal or head dimensions alone restores native geometry.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 451
Mean 5.8 years
Tarabichi S, Paul BR · … · Bingham JS
Key Takeaway: Optimal interstage duration in two-stage exchange arthroplasty varies by organism: 129 days for high-virulence pathogens, 117 days for MSSA, 98 days for culture-negative PJI, and 86 days for coagulase-negative Staphylococci, with exceeding these thresholds independently predicting treatment failure.
Sports Medicine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 780
Minimum 2 years (exact mean not reported).
van der Wal WA, de Groot TM · … · Saris DBF
Key Takeaway: In patients ≤25 years with PTSmax ≥12°, adding LET to primary ACLR reduced revision rate from 21.0% to 9.2% (ARR 11.8%, NNT 9).
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 2166 feet (2321 reviewed, 155 excluded)
N/A
Abraham VM, Marletta D · … · Riccio AI
Key Takeaway: Navicular radiographic abnormalities occur in 3% of pediatric feet (64/2166), with dorsal pathology comprising 64% of findings, and 79.7% of these abnormalities deemed incidental to the presenting complaint.
Sports Medicine
prospective cohort
LOE III
n = 85
Median 5.2 years (range 5.1–9.4 years)
Berge T, Garratt AM · … · Bøe B
Key Takeaway: Arthroscopic Latarjet with double-screw fixation achieved a 2.4% recurrent dislocation rate and median WOSI improvement from 51% to 79% at minimum 5-year follow-up, with HRQoL equivalent to age- and sex-matched population norms.
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 2,894 (1,115 normal subjects; 1,779 AIS patients)
N/A
Aleman C, Goetsch T · … · Charles YP
Key Takeaway: In primary thoracic AIS (Lenke 1–3), thoracic kyphosis T1–T12 is reduced by >8° and L1PA is elevated by >3° compared to normals, yet the global T4-to-hip axis remains preserved, supporting vertebropelvic angles as surgical alignment targets.
Hand & Wrist
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 22 (from 98 identified cases)
Median 23.7 months (IQR 14.4–41.2 months)
Nishimura K, Ward C · … · Moran SL
Key Takeaway: Scaphoid waist index (WI) was numerically lower in wrists with nonunion after scaphocapitate fusion for Kienböck disease (median 0.365 vs 0.429), but the bootstrap 95% CI crossed zero, leaving the association unconfirmed in this n=22 cohort.
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 153 (decompression n=101, fusion n=52)
12 months
Kim TS, You KH · … · Park HJ
Key Takeaway: Sarcopenia did not worsen 12-month ODI or complication rates after biportal endoscopic lumbar surgery, but sarcopenic fusion patients had a 3.1-day longer hospital stay (15.0 vs. 11.9 days, P=0.003).
Trauma
database study
LOE III
n = 255,081
N/A
Rodio LA, Adelstein JM · … · Napora JK
Key Takeaway: Among 255,081 US clavicle fractures from 2015–2024, the incidence proportion rose 68.2% and the ORIF rate increased from 6.40% to a peak of 8.73% in 2021, with the highest surgical rates in the 20–29 age group (17.6–17.7%).
Sports Medicine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 42
Primary outcomes 12 months; reinjury rate at 24 months.
Martin-Alguacil JL, Arroyo-Morales M · … · Rodriguez-Delgado JM
Key Takeaway: Partial-thickness quadriceps tendon autograft produced 26–31% greater quadriceps symmetry index at 3–6 months post-ACL reconstruction compared to full-thickness graft, with no difference at 12 months or in reinjury rate at 24 months.
Musculoskeletal Oncology
systematic review
LOE III
n = Multiple studies; key cohorts include 221 adult patients and 36 pediatric patients
Minimum 2 years required for inclusion; pediatric survivorship reported at 5 and 10 years
Hashimoto K · … · Goto K
Key Takeaway: The Zimmer Biomet Compress CPS device demonstrates a periprosthetic fracture rate of 2.7–3.9% in adults, concentrated within the first 2 years postoperatively, with preserved bone-implant interface stability in most fracture cases facilitating easier revision than cemented stems.
Sports Medicine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 94 (braided n=38, conventional n=56)
Minimum 1 year; mean not explicitly reported.
Özel V · … · Yıldırım T
Key Takeaway: Triple-strand braided hamstring grafts independently predicted good functional outcome (IKDC ≥90) with OR 3.719 versus conventional quad-strand technique, and each 1 mm increase in graft diameter added OR 4.309 for the same endpoint.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 104 hips, 101 patients
Mean 16.2 years (minimum 14 years) for unrevised hips.
Lin YC, Chang CH · … · Lau NC
Key Takeaway: HRA achieved 100% 15-year survivorship in primary OA and non-OA diagnoses, but DDH survivorship was 82.8%, with all five revisions occurring exclusively in female DDH patients receiving cups ≤50 mm.
Shoulder & Elbow
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 45 control shoulders (HBB type 3 subgroup) + 10 RSA patients
N/A if not reported.
Levy G, Charbonnier C · … · Lädermann A
Key Takeaway: Two distinct kinematic strategies enable hand-behind-back above T12 in controls—extension-dominant (extension 24°, IR 27°) and IR-dominant (extension 17°, IR 53°)—and neither bony anatomy nor a single ROM parameter predicted which strategy was used or whether RSA patients achieved functional HBB.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 43,000 procedures (945 on Friday the 13th)
N/A if not reported.
Walter N, Lowenberg DW · … · Rupp M
Key Takeaway: Among 945 arthroplasties performed on Friday the 13th, hazard ratios for aseptic revision (0.80), septic revision (0.83), and mortality (1.00) were not significantly different from control dates.
Foot & Ankle
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 18 (TAL n=8, HSN n=10)
Mean 26 months (TAL), 23 months (HSN)
Jerome JTJ · … · Thirumagal K
Key Takeaway: In 18 pediatric patients with spastic equinus, reintervention rates were 25% after TAL (2/8) and 20% after HSN (2/10) at approximately 2-year follow-up, with no standardized functional comparison possible between groups.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 40 (20 TM cups, 20 reconstruction cages)
Median 8.4 years (TM) vs 9.7 years (cage).
Lin YC, Lee SH · … · Lau NC
Key Takeaway: Trabecular metal cups achieved 100% 10-year survivorship free from aseptic loosening versus 88.2% for reconstruction cages in irradiated acetabula, with all-cause revision-free survivorship significantly favoring TM cups (100% vs 78.5%, p=0.040).
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 1,724 (862 per cohort)
Five years (with interim analysis at 30 days, 1 year, 2 years)
Ferdon RJ, Peller J · … · Silvestre J
Key Takeaway: TRT use prior to single-level ACDF is associated with 30% higher odds of pseudoarthrosis, 70% higher odds of adjacent segment disease, and 50% higher odds of cervical reoperation at five years compared to propensity-matched controls.
Spine
Not available
LOE NOT REPORTED
n = Not reported
Not reported
Lindsey RW
Key Takeaway: Abstract not available — see the original article for details.
Shoulder & Elbow
prospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 23
60 months (5 years)
de Bruin LJE, Brinke BT · … · Mathijssen N
Key Takeaway: The stemless Simpliciti humeral component achieves stable fixation by 12 months in 87% of cases, with median translation of <0.2 mm and rotation of <0.4° between 24 and 60 months, though 3 of 23 implants showed continuous migration without clinical consequence.
Arthroplasty
Not available
LOE NOT REPORTED
n = Not reported
Not reported
Siddiqi A · … · Jacob PB
Key Takeaway: Abstract not available — see the original article for details.
Shoulder & Elbow
case series
LOE IV
n = 56
Mean 27.2 months (minimum 2 years).
Wu D, Tang Y · … · Zhao Q
Key Takeaway: The arthroscopic 'mooring' technique for large anterior glenoid rim fractures (≥20% glenoid width, >5 mm displacement) achieved 100% bone union at 6 months and satisfactory reduction in 92.9% of 56 patients at mean 27.2-month follow-up.
Trauma
retrospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 15
N/A if not reported.
Katzir A, Bilodeau RE · … · Ricci WM
Key Takeaway: One-stage repair of infected humeral nonunion achieved 86.7% ultimate union but required unplanned reoperation in 33.3% of patients, with Cutibacterium acnes identified as the causative organism in 80% of cultures.
Sports Medicine
database study
LOE IV
n = 2,056 adverse event reports
N/A
Yona T · … · Gilat R
Key Takeaway: Among 2,056 FDA MAUDE-reported all-inside meniscal repair device failures, device fracture dominated all-suture anchors (41.6%), device-device incompatibility was unique to rigid capsular-knot anchors (34.0%), and deployment errors (failure to fire 36.2%, simultaneous fire 19.9%) predominated in rigid meniscal-knot anchors.
Shoulder & Elbow
survey
LOE V
n = 96 patient scenarios rated by a multidisciplinary panel
N/A
Lack WD, Baxi O · … · New Collective Author
Key Takeaway: The AAOS AUC panel rated surgical versus nonsurgical treatment across 96 mid-shaft clavicle fracture scenarios, producing appropriateness designations (Appropriate, May Be Appropriate, Rarely Appropriate) to guide clinical decision-making.
Basic Science
biomechanical
LOE V
n = N/A
N/A
Berthelsen CJ, Crocoll C · … · Bue M
Key Takeaway: Both hydroxyapatite/calcium sulfate and calcium sulfate antibiotic-loaded ceramic bone grafts released >98% of gentamicin within 6 hours and >99% within 24 hours in vivo, refuting the assumed 28-42 day sustained-release window.
Trauma
survey
LOE V
n = N/A
N/A
Siddiqi A · … · Yousuf KM
Key Takeaway: Surgeon ASC equity ownership lacks standardized disclosure and risk-adjusted outcome reporting, creating unquantified conflicts of interest as arthroplasty site-of-service shifts accelerate.
Hand & Wrist
case series
LOE IV
n = 21
Mean 44.5 months
Zhang W, Wu T · … · Hou P
Key Takeaway: Transosseous TFCC foveal repair combined with allogeneic tendon dorsal DRUJ reinforcement reduced mean VAS from 5.5 to 0.7 and improved modified Mayo wrist score from 68.9 to 90.3 at mean 44.5-month follow-up in 21 patients with chronic severe DRUJ instability.
Trauma
survey
LOE V
n = N/A
N/A
Salphale YS
Key Takeaway: This viewpoint presents no quantitative findings; it argues conceptually that rigid protocol adherence without individualized reasoning constitutes a failure of surgical professionalism.
Trauma
database study
LOE IV
n = 10,045 (from 117,592,405 screened in TriNetX US Collaborative Network)
30-day outcomes reported; 10-year study period (2015–2025).
Ruppert NF, Sanghvi PA · … · Napora JK
Key Takeaway: ACS incidence remained stable at 33 ± 2.17 cases per million patients annually from 2015–2025, with 30-day readmission of 42% and 30-day mortality of 6% in a national cohort of 10,045 fasciotomy patients.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 150
Mean 11.7 years (minimum 10 years)
Gosnell GG, Berzolla E · … · Youm T
Key Takeaway: Primary hip arthroscopy with interportal capsulotomy without capsular repair achieved 90.7% survivorship and 76.0% PASS achievement for mHHS at mean 11.7-year follow-up in structurally stable FAIS.
Hand & Wrist
case-control
LOE IV
n = 100 (27 rupture cases, 73 controls)
N/A
Bachoura A, Matzon J · … · Tosti R
Key Takeaway: Capitate-to-axis-of-radius distance (CARD) was the only independent radiographic predictor of flexor tendon rupture after volar plating, with mean CARD 9.8 mm in rupture cases versus 3.5 mm in controls.
Sports Medicine
biomechanical
LOE V
n = 10 ACL remnant donors
N/A
Cai L · … · Rai MF
Key Takeaway: IL-1β upregulates chemokines (CXCL1/3/5/6/8, CCL20), cytokines (IL-6, IL-33), and MMPs (MMP3/12) in ACL remnant fibroblasts, while TGF-β1 pretreatment suppresses 13 of 16 assessed chemokines by up to 50%.
Shoulder & Elbow
survey
LOE V
n = 615
N/A
Zabiba A, Menendez ME
Key Takeaway: 58% of U.S. adults preferred robotic-assisted shoulder arthroplasty over conventional surgery, but 62% would choose a high-volume non-robotic surgeon over a low-volume robotic surgeon, with perceived outcome improvement being the strongest predictor of robotic preference (OR 3.31).
Shoulder & Elbow
case series
LOE IV
n = 62
Not reported as a mean; post-revision timepoint not specified.
Leal J, Hurley ET · … · Klifto CS
Key Takeaway: After revision TSA, 66.1% of patients achieved MCID for PROMIS pain interference and 61.3% for PROMIS physical function compared to their pre-primary TSA baseline.
Hand & Wrist
cadaveric
LOE V
n = 24 cadaveric wrists (12 matched pairs)
N/A
Rakowski DR, Richman EH · … · Lauder A
Key Takeaway: Dorsal ligament-sparing radiocarpal arthrotomy visualizes 77.3% of the distal radius articular surface versus 63.7% via volar arthrotomy, a statistically significant 13.5% difference (P=.008).
Trauma
survey
LOE V
n = 67 (round 1), n=55 (round 2)
N/A
Mitchell RJ, Johansen A · … · Moppett I
Key Takeaway: A 2-round modified-Delphi across 17 countries achieved high consensus (≥70% agreement) on 14 of 15 statements guiding operative versus non-operative hip fracture management, with only 24% of participating facilities having a formal non-operative protocol.
Hand & Wrist
cadaveric
LOE V
n = 43 cadaveric hands
N/A
Kretzmann ID, Judge E · … · Catalano LW
Key Takeaway: Suture button suspensionplasty reduces index metacarpal load-to-failure by 33% regardless of drill hole trajectory, with all specimens fracturing at the fixation site.
Sports Medicine
systematic review
LOE V
n = N/A (qualitative synthesis; pooled rates not calculated)
N/A
Ugarte J, Muñoz JT · … · Hughes JD
Key Takeaway: Reported complication rates for anterior closing-wedge high tibial osteotomy combined with ACLR range from 0% to 56.5%, but are uninterpretable due to inconsistent definitions across studies.
Hand & Wrist
survey
LOE V
n = 636
N/A
Zaidi Z, Dbeis A · … · Vaughn N
Key Takeaway: 88% of ASSH hand surgeons preferred operative treatment for displaced extra-articular distal radius fractures in a 72-year-old patient, directly contradicting AAOS strong recommendation for nonsurgical management in geriatric DRFs.
Spine
case series
LOE V
n = 1
1 year
Mizukoshi R, Funao H · … · Yagi M
Key Takeaway: De novo ITP presenting intraoperatively during L2-5 PLIF caused platelet nadir of 1,000/µL on POD1, refractory to transfusion and IVIG/steroids, with recovery only after thrombopoietin receptor agonist therapy.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
systematic review
LOE V
n = N/A
N/A
Biz C, Cerchiaro M · … · Ruggieri P
Key Takeaway: This narrative review traces DDH management from Hippocratic descriptions through Graf ultrasonographic classification and Pavlik harness adoption, identifying no new quantitative findings.
Trauma
biomechanical
LOE V
n = 40 sheep Achilles tendons
N/A
Basci O · … · Çeltik M
Key Takeaway: A novel strap-based proximal fixation method achieved the highest load-to-failure (114.58 N) among four techniques tested on sheep Achilles tendons, though it was not statistically superior to Krackow suture fixation after Bonferroni correction.