Arthroplasty
RCT
LOE I
n = 1,133 (unrestricted n=567, restricted n=566)
Mean 1.3 ± 1.4 years (range 0.1–8.6 years)
Yadav AS, Potluri AS · … · Levine BR
Key Takeaway: Hip precautions after posterior approach THA with capsular repair produced no difference in dislocation rate (0.88% overall; OR 0.60, 95% CI 0.17–2.17) but significantly worsened HOOS-JR scores at 6 weeks and 3–6 months in the restricted group.
Arthroplasty
RCT
LOE I
n = 107 (CO UKA n=52, RO UKA n=55)
2 years (interim report)
Kayani B, Fontalis A · … · Haddad FS
Key Takeaway: Robotic-arm-assisted medial UKA achieved superior component position accuracy (p<0.001 for both femoral and tibial components) and higher Forgotten Joint Scores at 2 years compared to conventional jig-based UKA, though standard PROMs (OKS, KOOS, WOMAC) did not differ.
Arthroplasty
RCT
LOE I
n = 86 (43 per group completing study)
2 weeks
Suttikadsanee W · … · Pinsornsak P
Key Takeaway: Intraosseous multimodal analgesic cocktail injection reduced VAS pain scores at rest and with motion at 4, 6, and 12 hours and 2 weeks post-TKA compared to periarticular injection, with faster Timed Up and Go at 48 hours but no difference in morphine consumption or discharge timing.
Trauma
RCT
LOE I
n = 122
12 months
Larsen P, Thorninger R · … · Serritslev R
Key Takeaway: Locking plate fixation achieved clinically meaningful superiority over tension-band wiring in 3 of 5 KOOS subscales at 12 months (symptoms −10.4, sport/recreation −14.1, quality of life −10.9 points), with lower rates of hardware removal, fixation failure, and reoperation.
Sports Medicine
systematic review
LOE I
n = 7 studies, 622 patients
N/A
Hu EY, Althoff AD · … · Moran TE
Key Takeaway: Seven RCTs comparing biceps tenotomy versus tenodesis yielded a mean reverse continuous fragility index of 17.7, indicating moderate robustness of nonsignificant findings, though 57% of studies would flip to tenodesis superiority if rCFI threshold were crossed.
Spine
cost-effectiveness
LOE I
n = 129 (66 skip-fixation, 63 all-fixation)
2 years
Tsujino M, Tamai K · … · Terai H
Key Takeaway: Skip-level fixation in open-door cervical laminoplasty reduced two-year direct medical costs by USD 1,460 versus all-level fixation with no significant QALY difference, yielding an 86.3% probability of cost-effectiveness at a WTP threshold of USD 45,900/QALY.
Basic Science
biomechanical
LOE II
n = 36 artificial ankle specimens (12 per group)
N/A
Herbel C, Lopez R · … · Haupt ET
Key Takeaway: In a synthetic bone model TAA study, CAN achieved superior tibial resection accuracy over PSI and SRG (p<0.001), while PSI outperformed CAN on talar slope and axial cut height (p≤0.002), with CAN demonstrating the lowest implant placement variability (±0.47 mm, ±0.62°).
Arthroplasty
RCT
LOE II
n = 141 (94 randomized VE/V groups; 47 propensity score-matched E group)
N/A if not reported.
Zhang Y, Wei J · … · Xiang S
Key Takeaway: Intra-articular vancomycin combined with EACA maintained higher local vancomycin concentrations at 8 and 24 hours versus vancomycin alone while preserving EACA's antifibrinolytic effect, with no enhancement of antibacterial activity and no cases of AKI, ototoxicity, or anaphylaxis across 141 TKAs.
Hand & Wrist
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 14
N/A
Pereira DE · … · Dy CJ
Key Takeaway: Among 14 upper extremity trauma surgery patients with high financial distress, 36% were uninsured and qualitative analysis identified three core burden domains: community/personal impact, insurance and legal struggles, and catastrophic debt.
Arthroplasty
meta-analysis
LOE II
n = 21 studies, 3,573 patients, 4,107 TKAs (2,298 preserved, 1,809 resected)
Variable across included studies; outcomes reported at 6 weeks, 3, 6, and 12 months minimum.
Skaik K, Oulousian S · … · Ravi B
Key Takeaway: Infrapatellar fat pad preservation in TKA reduces early complications by 76% (RR=0.24) and patellar tendon shortening is 2.68 mm greater with resection at 12 months, though functional scores do not differ.
Sports Medicine
retrospective cohort
LOE II
n = 10,693
Mean 5.2 years (±2.9)
Sandon A, Forssblad M
Key Takeaway: In 10,693 Swedish football players, graft type did not predict revision ACLR, but quadriceps tendon autograft was associated with nearly double the hazard of contralateral ACLR in women (HR 1.98, 95% CI 1.17–3.36).
Arthroplasty
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 104 (anterior n=37, posterior n=32, lateral n=35)
1 year
Barton KI, Kooner P · … · Vasarhelyi EM
Key Takeaway: Total outpatient costs at one year did not differ significantly across anterior ($1,321 CDN), posterior ($1,095 CDN), and lateral ($1,153 CDN) THA approaches (P=0.114), though anterior approach generated higher allied health costs ($361 vs $207 posterior, P=0.028).
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE II
n = 6,548,565 individuals; 36,958 with hospital-treated spinal stenosis
1997–2018 (up to 21 years of registry follow-up)
Anker-Hansen C, Pirouzifard M · … · Zöller B
Key Takeaway: First-degree relatives of spinal stenosis patients carry a familial hazard ratio of 2.47 for developing hospital-treated spinal stenosis, with twins showing an afHR of 5.12, confirming significant hereditary contribution.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 8,516 (SCORE) compared against ABOS Part II database cohort
≤8 months postoperative
Martin H, Ellis H · … · Members of the SCORE Quality Improvement Registry,
Key Takeaway: Prospective surgeon-reported data captured a significantly higher stiffness rate (4.8% vs. 3.6%, p=0.0013) and reoperation rate (3.7% vs. 1.8%, p<0.0001) after pediatric ACLR compared to the retrospective ABOS Part II database, while overall complication rates were equivalent (11.6% vs. 11.1%).
Spine
prospective cohort
LOE II
n = 125 (59 with Modic changes at baseline; 37 with 12-month follow-up imaging)
12 months
Bonnheim NB, Brumm Z · … · Fields AJ
Key Takeaway: Quantitative water-fat MRI hypo-fatty marrow involvement in Modic change-affected endplates associates with worse ODI at a medium effect size (Cohen's f²=0.26, p=0.0007), whereas conventional Modic type classification shows no association with any patient-reported outcome (p>0.25).
Musculoskeletal Oncology
prospective cohort
LOE III
n = 247
N/A if not reported.
Saleib SM, Jonker MF · … · Van Waes OJF
Key Takeaway: Latent class analysis of 247 Dutch BAP patients identified 3 distinct preference subgroups, with QoL driving 26–53% of decision weight across classes and long-term complications dominating Class 3 (24% of patients, predominantly male, lower education, pre-surgical).
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 121 (41 FH, 80 RAN)
N/A
Marsh IG, Senthilnathan IS · … · Heyer JH
Key Takeaway: Robotic-assisted navigation for posterior spinal fusion in idiopathic scoliosis produces a 25-fold greater cumulative perioperative radiation dose to the patient (12.5 vs 0.5 mSv) compared to freehand technique, despite a 1.5-fold reduction in intraoperative fluoroscopy dose.
Shoulder & Elbow
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 34 (8 centers)
Mean 98.7 months (range 60–172 months)
Neyton L, Sewpaul Y · … · Ohl X
Key Takeaway: At mean 8-year follow-up, Latarjet coracoid grafts consolidated in 97% of patients with <5% preoperative glenoid bone loss, with mean glenoid surface augmentation of 20.9% despite consistent superomedial resorption on 3D CT.
Trauma
RCT
LOE III
n = 254
12 months
Simske NM, Solarczyk JK · … · METRC
Key Takeaway: At 12 months after severe open tibial shaft fracture, 34% had moderate-to-severe depression, 45% met PTSD criteria, and 49% reported moderate-to-severe pain interference, with none of these outcomes differing by fixation modality (external ring vs. internal fixation).
Arthroplasty
database study
LOE III
n = 704,930 (83,203 TSA; 267,683 THA; 354,044 TKA)
2015–2025 (10-year observational window)
Joshi T, Kalva SR · … · Virk MS
Key Takeaway: TSA incidence grew 248% from 2015–2025 (13.1 to 45.6 per 100,000) and is projected to increase by 73–397% by 2040, representing the highest proportional annual growth rate (12.4%/year by Poisson modeling) among TSA, THA, and TKA.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
systematic review
LOE III
n = 23 studies, 849 knees in 808 patients
Mean 46.2 months
Perez-Espina SM, Zirbes CF · … · Lau BC
Key Takeaway: In 849 pediatric knees undergoing MPFL reconstruction, recurrent dislocation rates were statistically equivalent between autograft (5.5%) and allograft (9.1%), though allograft patients returned to sport at or above preoperative level more frequently (90.9% vs. 71.2%, p=0.0002).
Shoulder & Elbow
meta-analysis
LOE III
n = 7 studies, 2,639 patients
Primary endpoint 24 hours; post hoc analysis to 48 hours in 3 studies (n=695).
Torrez C, van de Wall BJM · … · Camenzind RS
Key Takeaway: Single-shot interscalene block (SSIB) achieves comparable 24-hour analgesia to continuous interscalene catheters (CIC) in shoulder arthroplasty while carrying a fourfold lower complication rate (0.4% vs. 4.6%) and substantially lower material cost ($24–$190 vs. $357–$474).
Pediatric Orthopaedics
systematic review
LOE III
n = 18 studies, 1,372 patients
N/A if not reported.
Benaroch LR, Anderson RJ · … · Thornley P
Key Takeaway: In 1,372 pediatric medial epicondyle fractures, nonoperative management carried a 29.9% nonunion rate but MEPS of 98.6, while operative management yielded 6.4% ulnar nerve symptoms, 13% secondary surgery rate, and MEPS of 95.2.
Trauma
meta-analysis
LOE III
n = 17 studies, 2,063 patients
N/A
Schermerhorn JT, McGlone PJ · … · O'Toole RV
Key Takeaway: Deep SSI rates after IMN of open tibial shaft fractures escalate from 6.2% (G-A Type I) to 41.8% (G-A Type IIIC), with a pooled overall rate of 13.2% across 2,063 patients.
Spine
systematic review
LOE III
n = 11 studies, data spanning 2000–2024
N/A
Alwani A, Kolady R · … · Ng MK
Key Takeaway: Inflation-adjusted Medicare physician reimbursement for lumbar spine surgery declined at a median CAGR of -2.00% per year across 11 studies, with cumulative losses approaching 33% over two decades despite a 94.6% rise in total fusion volume.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 238,455 primary THAs (7,032 DM-THA)
N/A
Zucker BE · … · Judge A
Key Takeaway: Surgeon-level factors (32.4%) and institutional factors (22.9%) account for more than half of variation in dual-mobility THA use, while patient-level characteristics explain only ~10% of variance across 238,455 primary THAs.
Sports Medicine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 581
Minimum 6 years
Pineda T, Mazy D · … · Dejour DH
Key Takeaway: A PTS of 15° carries a 36.6% predicted rerupture probability at age 18 versus 3.9% at age 45, with age modulating absolute but not relative risk per degree of slope.
Sports Medicine
case-control
LOE III
n = 919 (759 development, 160 external test)
N/A
Chen B, Tang X · … · Qin Y
Key Takeaway: KneeFusionNet achieved external validation AUROCs of 0.888 (ACL), 0.867 (PCL), 0.862 (MCL), and 0.874 (LCL) for knee ligament injury detection on MRI, while AI assistance improved junior surgeon accuracy from 0.818 to 0.900 and reduced interpretation time by 14.73 seconds.
Spine
systematic review
LOE III
n = 441 hockey athletes across included studies
Career longevity post-lumbar surgery averaged 3–4 years; cervical-specific data not reported.
Nguyen KT, Patel S · … · Odland K
Key Takeaway: Among 441 hockey athletes, return-to-sport rates following spine surgery ranged from 75–90%, but postoperative declines in games played, scoring productivity, and performance indices were commonly observed across both cervical and lumbar procedures.
Trauma
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 55 knees (44 patients)
Mean 6.9 years (range 5.0–10.4 years)
Horita K, Okimura S · … · Teramoto A
Key Takeaway: Preoperative medial meniscus extrusion ≥3 mm independently predicts varus correction loss after medial opening-wedge HTO, with pathological MME knees achieving a final WBL ratio of 55.8% versus 65.7% in non-pathological knees at mean 6.9 years.
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 6,084 (25 hematoma cases)
N/A
Kazarian GS, Mok JK · … · Morse KW
Key Takeaway: Postoperative cervical hematoma requiring evacuation occurred in 0.41% of 6,084 ACDF/CDR cases, with male sex (aOR 2.99) and ≥4 surgical levels (aOR 3.20) as independent predictors, and Penrose drains associated with 9.15× higher odds versus no drain.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 246 (82 SPR cases, 164 matched controls)
N/A if not reported.
Carlisi G, Familiari F · … · Calafiore G
Key Takeaway: Secondary patellar resurfacing significantly improved VAS, KSS, and OKS scores (P<0.005) in patients with anterior knee pain after unresurfaced primary TKA, and a novel GC Index (AFO/APD ratio) identified these patients with 82.93% sensitivity and 85.37% specificity.
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = N not explicitly stated in abstract; single-institution cohort, 2013–2025
1-year mortality endpoint reported; overall follow-up duration not specified in abstract.
Golubovsky JL, Rajan A · … · Shammassian B
Key Takeaway: Sarcopenic patients with Type II odontoid fractures were less likely to fail non-operative management, suggesting lower muscle mass encodes frailty information beyond age and comorbidity burden alone.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 1,026 (513 matched pairs)
90-day postoperative episode-of-care window
Williams JL, Gonzalez-Bravo AE · … · Hannon CP
Key Takeaway: Technology-assisted primary THA costs $1,783 more per episode-of-care than manual THA ($20,038 vs $18,254) with no compensatory reduction in 90-day postoperative costs despite marginally shorter LOS.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 48 patients (54 feet)
Mean 2.1 years (range 0.10–8.2 years)
Lam A, Hartman R · … · Riccio AI
Key Takeaway: A K-wire-guided simplified talocalcaneal coalition excision technique halved tourniquet time (47.5 vs. 93.4 min) and total cost ($2,887 vs. $5,819) compared to traditional resection without increasing complications.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 714 (238 KA-TKA, 476 MA-TKA)
Minimum 2 years.
Ng Y, Lim WSR · … · Yeo SJ
Key Takeaway: Unrestricted KA-TKA in patients with severe proximal tibial varus (mean MPTA 81.6°) achieved equivalent 2-year PROMs and satisfaction rates comparable to less-deformed KA patients and superior satisfaction versus MA-TKA (p=0.017).
Shoulder & Elbow
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 23
N/A
Nguyen CN, Drake JH · … · Cotter EJ
Key Takeaway: Arthroscopic pre-revision tissue biopsy for shoulder arthroplasty PJI demonstrated only 27.3% sensitivity and 60% NPV against 2018 ICM criteria, making a negative result clinically unreliable for ruling out infection.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 23,405 TKAs in 20,035 patients
30 days (blister identification window); reoperation and infection outcomes not time-bounded beyond chart review period.
Weinblatt AI, Do HT · … · Mironenko CM
Key Takeaway: Peri-incisional blistering occurred in 3.1% of primary TKAs and was associated with a 4.24-fold increased odds of PJI, exceeding smoking as a risk factor.
Shoulder & Elbow
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 169
Mean 4.6 years (range 2.0–10.3 years)
Jakobi T, Surgeon O · … · Surgeon O
Key Takeaway: HO developed in 32.5% of complex elbow fracture-dislocations, with terrible triad injuries (OR 3.04), male sex (OR 2.8), and surgery delayed >5 days (OR 2.2) as independent predictors, and HO presence reduced flexion-extension arc by 12° compared to unaffected patients.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 32,216 (12,840 THA; 19,376 TKA, 1:1 matched)
2 years
Botolin P, Helbing J · … · Goldman AH
Key Takeaway: Prior GI bleeding within 2 years increased 2-year odds of revision surgery by 40% in both THA (OR 1.4) and TKA (OR 1.4), with TKA patients specifically showing 30% higher odds of PJI (OR 1.3) and THA patients showing 60% higher odds of mechanical loosening (OR 1.6).
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 20,376
30 days postoperative
Ortega DA, Levin-Carrion Y · … · Sardar ZM
Key Takeaway: After IPTW adjustment in 20,376 pediatric spinal deformity patients, cell saver use was not associated with increased 30-day all-cause morbidity, but high CS volume (≥3.5 mL/kg) was associated with 83% higher odds of intraoperative allogeneic transfusion (OR=1.83) while low CS volume reduced transfusion odds by 38% (OR=0.62).
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 122
Mean 35.0 months
Siripullop T, Ngarmukos S · … · Tanavalee A
Key Takeaway: In bilaterally well-aligned TKA patients with coronal spinal imbalance, 91.5% preferred the knee ipsilateral to the spinal shift versus only 29% showing side preference in the balanced-spine group (P<0.0001).
Spine
database study
LOE III
n = 1,410 sampled NEISS records representing ~66,750 estimated ED visits
N/A
Klachian H, Srivastava A · … · Parisien RL
Key Takeaway: Non-traditional vehicles caused an estimated 66,750 ED visits for cervical spine injuries over 10 years, with a statistically significant increase of 564 visits/year (P=0.011), driven predominantly by ATVs (30.6%) in males aged 11–20.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 191
6 months
Yang Y, Zang W · … · Zhang X
Key Takeaway: Latent profile analysis of preoperative CT-derived quadriceps volumes identified three distinct muscle phenotypes in TKA patients, with the highest-volume class (n=27) achieving the best absolute WOMAC improvement (41.8 points) and the lowest-volume class (n=39) showing the least VAS improvement (2.8 points) at six months.
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 628 (300 health-screening cohort + 328 DCM surgical cohort)
2 years (DCM surgical cohort)
Lin T, Lu Q · … · Wang Z
Key Takeaway: Elevated systemic immune-inflammation index (SII) independently predicts both MRI-defined intramedullary signal intensity and poorer mJOA recovery at 2 years in DCM patients undergoing decompression surgery, with ISI present in 45.4% of the surgical cohort and 14.7% of asymptomatic health-screening individuals.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 915 (183 combined LSF+THA patients propensity-score matched 1:4 to 732 THA-alone controls)
Not explicitly reported; MCID achievement tracked over the perioperative recovery window (mean ~5–7 months per outcome measure).
Sauder N, Williams DL · … · Alpaugh K
Key Takeaway: Patients requiring both THA and LSF reach MCID for PROMIS Global Physical 0.76 months later than THA-alone controls (5.91 vs 5.15 months), with the delay driven entirely by the THA-first subgroup (7.35 months).
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 351
12 months
Heinig SA, Corr F · … · Stienen MN
Key Takeaway: Symptomatic PE occurred in 10.8% of adults undergoing instrumented spinal fusion ≥6 hours, with fusion ≥8 segments (OR 3.81) and osseous bone-anchoring complications (OR 5.07) as the strongest independent predictors.
Arthroplasty
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 320
Minimum 2 years (PROMs assessed at 1 and 2 years).
Tantikosol P, Apinyakul R · … · Goodman SB
Key Takeaway: Retained periarticular hardware during conversion TKA did not increase reoperation risk (Fine-Gray p=0.162) despite significantly higher operative time and blood loss in the major hardware group.
Spine
prospective cohort
LOE III
n = 98
N/A (cross-sectional)
Moldovan DMM, Aranda-Valera IC · … · López-Medina C
Key Takeaway: In 98 axSpA patients, mSASSS structural damage and paraspinal muscle stiffness/elasticity were independently associated with reduced spinal mobility, with the strongest effects observed in the cervical spine.
Trauma
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 1078 (615 blade, 463 screw)
N/A if not reported.
Richey Levine A, Cross JL · … · Leslie M
Key Takeaway: Blade versus screw choice in cephalomedullary nailing for intertrochanteric fractures showed no difference in complications (5.7% vs. 5.4%) or reoperation (5.2% vs. 3.7%), while malreduction and patient factors—not implant type—drove adverse outcomes.
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 10,288 total; 428 after propensity score matching (214 EDH, 214 CDH)
12 months
Dos Reis JABPR · … · Alhaug OK
Key Takeaway: After propensity score matching, EDH and CDH patients achieved equivalent 12-month ODI (18.9 vs 17.4, p=NS) and satisfaction rates, despite EDH surgery requiring 17.9 additional operative minutes.
Arthroplasty
database study
LOE III
n = 14,913
30 days
Parisier E, Koltenyuk V · … · Weick J
Key Takeaway: The Risk Analysis Index outperforms the Modified 5-Item Frailty Index for predicting 30-day mortality after arthroplasty for femoral neck fractures, with C-statistics of 0.84 vs 0.69 for THA and 0.74 vs 0.62 for hemiarthroplasty.
Spine
retrospective cohort
LOE III
n = 15,960 (511 trauma centers); propensity-matched cohorts of n=6,867 per group
In-hospital only; duration not specified beyond index admission.
Abbas A, Koucheki R · … · Badhiwala J
Key Takeaway: Initiating pharmacologic thromboprophylaxis within 48 hours of surgery (postoperative day 1) in acute SCI patients reduced in-hospital VTE from 5.9% to 4.7% (OR 1.26) and mortality from 4.9% to 4.0% (OR 1.28) without increasing return to OR for spine-related procedures.
Arthroplasty
database study
LOE III
n = 11,124 surgeons (4,506 THA, 6,618 TKA) performing 459,140 procedures
N/A
Persaud SG, Kucherina A · … · Debbi EM
Key Takeaway: Surgeons in the highest dual-eligibility quartile received $31 less per THA and $24 less per TKA compared to the lowest quartile, despite managing greater comorbidity burden.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
prospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 50
24–48 hours postoperative monitoring period; long-term follow-up not reported.
McCarthy A, Hadley M · … · Franzone JM
Key Takeaway: A standardized NIBP protocol with capped inflation pressures (120 mmHg pediatric, 140 mmHg adult) and manual nurse assessment produced zero fractures across 50 OI patients with an average of 9.5 postoperative BP measurements each.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 20
Mean 7 years (range 2–14 years)
Fabregas A, Ramirez N · … · Samdani A
Key Takeaway: In the largest reported ES cohort (n=20), 50% had intraspinal anomalies including 40% tethered cord, and VEPTR carried a 233% complication rate versus 33% for MCGR and 25% for PSF.
Arthroplasty
systematic review
LOE IV
n = 9 studies, 13 cohorts, 371 hips
Minimum 24 months; specific mean not reported across cohorts.
Gómez-Verdejo F, Villarreal-Espinosa JB · … · Chahla J
Key Takeaway: Both segmental and circumferential hip labral reconstruction yield favorable PROs at minimum 2-year follow-up, but only 1 of 9 included studies directly compared the two techniques, precluding definitive superiority claims.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 115
Minimum 2 years
Zale C, Boyce J · … · Hwang SW
Key Takeaway: VBT in patients with open triradiate cartilage achieved successful curve correction (<35°) in only 56% of cases, with undercorrection in 29% and overcorrection in 15%.
Sports Medicine
systematic review
LOE IV
n = 25 studies, 1,172 patients
N/A — not uniformly reported across included studies
Hodakowski AJ, Hurley ET · … · Bradley KE
Key Takeaway: Across 1,172 adolescent athletes, the Latarjet procedure produced the lowest recurrent instability rate (0–8%) compared to arthroscopic Bankart (0–57%) and open Bankart (0–45%), though all three achieved high RTP rates.
Shoulder & Elbow
case series
LOE IV
n = 200 operative cases (from 548 total treated)
Mean 9.1 years (range 1.1–19.3 years)
Herman ZJ · … · Bradley JP
Key Takeaway: Open transosseous tunnel repair for refractory medial and lateral epicondylitis achieved 94.5% patient-reported symptom resolution and 96% full return to work at mean 9.1-year follow-up across 200 operative cases.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 26
Minimum 60 months (5 years).
Kapetanakis S, Chatzivasiliadis M
Key Takeaway: Lumbar microdiscectomy in adolescents (n=26) produced durable improvement at 5 years, with ODI improving from 61.8 to 12.9 and EQ-5D from 0.456 to 0.942, with an 8% reoperation rate for recurrent herniation.
Trauma
database study
LOE IV
n = 4 CPT codes (27236, 27506, 27759, 27814) analyzed across 2006–2024 CMS Physician Fee Schedule data
18-year longitudinal analysis (2006–2024) with 5-year projection to 2029
Hoveidaei AH · … · Anoushiravani AA
Key Takeaway: Inflation-adjusted Medicare reimbursement for four common lower extremity trauma procedures fell 33.7% from 2006 to 2024, with work RVU-based reimbursement declining 38.9%, and projections suggest a further 33–48% decline by 2029 under neutral-to-negative scenarios.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 68 (58 achondroplasia, 10 short-trunk dysplasia)
N/A (cross-sectional measurement at skeletal maturity)
Avendano JP, Elsabbagh Z · … · Sponseller PD
Key Takeaway: Skeletally mature patients with achondroplasia achieve a mean T1-T12 length of 27.8 cm and T1-S1 of 46.1 cm, both within expected adult ranges, with cardiopulmonary comorbidities present in only 9% of the cohort and not correlated with spinal length.
Trauma
retrospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 44 patients, 46 reaming specimens
N/A
Stevens KN, Pan X · … · Napora JK
Key Takeaway: Intramedullary reaming biopsy achieved only 70% sensitivity for diagnosing metastatic disease in cancer patients undergoing IMN fixation of long bone lesions, leaving 30% without a tissue diagnosis.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
retrospective cohort
LOE IV
n = 216 (ACLR cohort); n=53 (MRL cohort)
Mean 55.5 months (range 24–107 months)
Baltzer J · … · Chotel F
Key Takeaway: Meniscal ramp lesions occur in 25.9% of pediatric ACLR patients, with contact pivot sports as a significant risk factor and a 22.6% reoperation rate on the medial meniscus at mean 55.5 months.
Trauma
systematic review
LOE V
n = N/A
N/A
Nauth A · … · Schemitsch E
Key Takeaway: Acute arthroplasty use for femoral neck fractures is increasing, with cemented hemiarthroplasty demonstrating reduced revision rates and superior functional outcomes compared to uncemented constructs in elderly patients with displaced fractures.
Trauma
systematic review
LOE V
n = N/A
N/A
Tabu I, Armstrong E · … · Sawaguchi T
Key Takeaway: Fragility fracture care gaps persist globally, with LMIC implementation failures driven by health-system constraints rather than evidence deficits, though no single quantitative outcome metric is reported in this narrative review.
General
case series
LOE V
n = 5 fellowship-trained pediatric orthopaedic surgeons (validators)
N/A
Rasheed H · … · Whyte NSB
Key Takeaway: A $53 3D-printed K-wire pinning simulator scored 4.8/5 for teaching triangulation and 4.4/5 for motor skill development based on expert content validation.
Pediatric Orthopaedics
biomechanical
LOE V
n = 16 CT scans
N/A
Kha ST, Johnston M · … · Souder CD
Key Takeaway: Computer simulation of rigid intramedullary nailing in adolescents aged 10–13 shows maximum proximal tibial physeal injury of 5.15% with a 12.0 mm reamer, remaining below the classically cited 7% threshold of concern across all reamer sizes and ossification stages.
Shoulder & Elbow
cost-effectiveness
LOE V
n = N/A
N/A
Menendez ME · … · Matsen FA
Key Takeaway: Robotic-assisted rTSA requires an absolute risk reduction in early revision of 6.55% (1 revision prevented per 15 cases) to break even, which exceeds the observed baseline early revision rate of 2.1%, making routine economic justification impossible under current conditions.
Sports Medicine
cadaveric
LOE V
n = 10 cadaveric knees
N/A
Choi YS · … · Chang MJ
Key Takeaway: Combined lateral meniscus posterior root tear and medial ramp lesion in an ACL-deficient knee produces significantly greater internal rotation, external rotation, and anterior tibial translation than ACL deficiency with either lesion in isolation across multiple flexion angles.
Shoulder & Elbow
biomechanical
LOE V
n = 8 cadaveric humeral diaphyseal specimens
N/A
Saffi M, Fleet CT · … · Athwal GS
Key Takeaway: Lag screw (bi- and tri-cortical) and wire cerclage fixation generate significantly greater compressive force and contact area than suture-tape cerclage for humeral allograft strut fixation, with suture-tape showing greater strut translation beyond 50 N of cyclic loading (p<0.033).
Sports Medicine
cadaveric
LOE V
n = 30 grafts from 15 cadaveric knees
N/A
Bi AS, Augustin EJ · … · Yanke AB
Key Takeaway: Full-thickness double-blade quadriceps tendon grafts (DB-QT) achieved a mean CSA of 0.97 cm² and the highest load-to-failure, significantly exceeding both cylindrical-harvester QT grafts (0.64 cm²) and BTB grafts (0.44 cm²).
Shoulder & Elbow
survey
LOE V
n = 61 Delphi scenarios × 4 LLM platforms × 4 test conditions = 976 total recommendations
N/A
Vauclin C, Flaig B · … · Lobao M
Key Takeaway: OpenEvidence achieved the highest concordance with ASES Neer Circle Delphi consensus for MIRCT surgical recommendations at 65.6–68.9% across four test conditions, while no LLM approached expert-level decision-making accuracy.
Shoulder & Elbow
biomechanical
LOE V
n = 45 preoperative 3D models; 135 postoperative radiographs
Minimum 1 year; radiographs at postoperative day 1, 3, 6, and 12 months
Mitrousias V, Dor J · … · Cunningham G
Key Takeaway: Humeral resting abduction angle (HARA) systematically alters LSA by up to 5° and DSA by up to 9° across the 10°–30° HARA range, with 95% of postoperative radiographs showing inter-visit HARA variability averaging 10°.